top of page
  • Writer's picturejwyaun

Best Disability Life Series: Arthritis Parenting Hacks, School Morning Edition

Inspired by this tweet regarding tardies due to mom's disability, here are some ways I work around my disabilities while raising young children. This article deals with chronic pain and joint dysfunction from early onset osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, scoliosis, degenerative disc disease, spondylitis, SI joint dysfunction, and chronic migraine.


If you struggle with getting your child to school on time due to a disability, you can get accommodations through the ADA. It's no different than needing a sign language interpreter for parent-teacher conferences or a wheelchair ramp to get into the building.


I recommend that you write an email so communication is documented. You do not have to disclose your medical condition if you don't want to or don't feel comfortable, but I've found it can be helpful and it's quicker and cheaper to just say "I have arthritis that affects me in x ways" than it is to hunt down, vet, and hire a disability lawyer. It's less stressful for me, too, but of course do what you feel is best for you.


I recommend you CC your child's homeroom teacher, the school principal, whoever handles IEPs at your child's school because they know disability law inside and out, and anyone else you feel might be relevant or helpful. Our school has a parent advocate, but our last school didn't, so I don't know how common they are. The head of the PTA maybe can be an advocate at some schools. Anyone who is on you and your child's team.


I also suggest a few things to help mornings go more smoothly. You might already be doing all of them, or maybe you've tried some and they didn't work out for you.


If you don't have a rheumatologist, try to get one.


Do as much to get ready the night before as possible. Showers/baths, lay out clothes with shoes and accessories, backpacks and lunches packed and ready to go. If kids eat breakfast at home, can they eat at school? If they must eat at home, simple is the name of the game. What can they prepare themselves, or what takes the least effort for you? Simple hairstyles and slip-on shoes for everyone. Jackets they can do up on their own.


I keep healthy snacks, water, and arthritis Tylenol beside my bed so I can wake up, hydrate, get something in my stomach, and get some pain relief going while I'm doing my morning stretches under the warm covers.


Other arthritis parenting Warriors, what are your best hacks, tips, and tricks to get through these cold school mornings?


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page